Book direct and Save 10%!

  • We guarantee you the best rates!
  • No booking fees
  • Book now, pay later

Reviews

GeneralAccommodation | Dining | Functions VenueStaff 

                  

At Pavilion on Northbourne, we love to hear from our guests. That's why we're sharing with you some of our recent reviews and also our 4-star TripAdvisor rating. Guests often mention our central location and attentive, friendly service, but don't take it from us, here's what people are saying.

                 

General Reviews

Great location and amazing for a business hotel

“I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. This was a business trip and I picked this hotel because the location was great and it was amazing value for money. When I arrived and saw the rooms around this bright sunny Atrium, I was very pleasantly surprised. You felt like you were on the Gold Coast rather than Canberra. Our room was large and clean. All the amenities you need in a business hotel were there. The staff were very helpful. The breakfast was filling and varied. Very happy. ”

Tropicgirl39, April 2019  (TripAdvisor)

            

Great place

“A great and convenient place, I have stayed here several times when travelling for business.

Friendly staff, good food, onsite and secure parking, clean and spacious rooms and reasonably centralised in Canberra CBD. Would certainly recommend staying here to anyone.”

Compass13677879499, February 2019 (TripAdvisor) 

        

ACT Business trip

“Pavilion isn't the newest kid on the block but the people there make up any shortfalls with excellent service and a big smile. It is always a pleasure to stay at this hotel, the rooms are neat tidy & spotless and the food in the restaurant is top-notch.”

Robj789, June 2018 (TripAdvisor)

           

Weekend away

“Location is excellent and now that the tram is running, there will be no problems getting around if you don't wish to drive. Staff are very friendly and cannot do enough for you. Breakfast was delicious as they will do your eggs however you wish. Great variety and choice. Will stay again as this was my third visit to this hotel” 

Penrob76,  August 2019 (via TripAdvisor)

          

Always excellent

“This is the second time we've stayed when visiting Canberra and again cannot fault Pavilion on Northbourne. The staff are always helpful and knowledgeable about what is happening around the place, and able to offer recommendations. Last visit was Love & Desire at the NGA, this time it was Monet. We'll definitely be back in the summer for Matisse and Picasso!

The buffet breakfast is terrific and the dinners are excellent as well. They have deliveries and pickups through Menulog orders for people living/staying around the hotel. Awesome location as well.”

Kris W,  July 2019 (TripAdvisor)

       

Only place to stay

“This is our "go-to" place to stay when visiting Canberra. It is well located, comfortable and quiet and moderately priced. The parking is free and convenient. The Atrium is wonderful, making the dining experience unique. Staying here is always a pleasant experience.”

Alan H, June 2019 (TripAdvisor)

 

Recommend staying here

“All aspects of our visit was excellent. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was reasonably priced and very clean and comfortable. There was also a lot of room for parking. I would recommend staying here, especially if you have children as they can swim in the pool while you sit and have coffee.”

Navigate19635594522, February 2019 (TripAdvisor)

        

Worthy of many repeat visits

“Excellent place to stay. Rooms are spacious, The Atrium is delightful and the bar is a pleasant place in which to unwind. The staff are efficient and breakfast is tasty. The swimming pool is a great place to relax.”

Duckscw, October 2018 (TripAdvisor)

          

Back To Top

                 

Accommodation Reviews

Spacious homely room

“We have stayed at this property numerous times and never had a bad experience. Staff are friendly and efficient and the free secure parking is a bonus. This visit, we chose a Two Bedroom apartment for our family of four and the room was amazing, spacious and homely, with a large kitchen and living area and great decor. Located close to everything you require, you can’t go wrong. The kids love the fish pond.”

HappyCustomer2304,  August 2019 (via Google)

             

Enjoyed our stay at Pavillion

“Our very comfortable room was on the 2nd floor facing Northbourne and was surprisingly quiet. Well presented. Good parking. Handy to CBD. Breakfast was excellent and good value. Will stay again when we're in Canberra next.”

Ray W, August 2019 (via TripAdvisor)

           

Awesome

“I recently stayed at the Pavilion and it was great value for money. Atrium Room was large and clean, the bed was very comfortable and the air conditioner was very quiet. Being able to enjoy barista coffee for breakfast was a real bonus. Buffet breakfast was a good value for money. Staff was extremely friendly and efficient. Have already booked 2 rooms for October to see Floriade.”

Czes, August 2019 (via TripAdvisor)

          

Wonderful

“Perfect Apartment for three adults! The hotel was in a very convenient location within walking distance of to our favourite Vietnamese restaurant Pho at Dickson. Great ambience for dining surrounded by greenery!”

Cardovale, August 2019 (via TripAdvisor)

   

186 at Canberra

“A great hotel, enjoyed the stay and the friendly staff. The room was more than what I was expecting. The location is very handy to everything. Even has a tram stop outside. Very efficient and friendly staff. Will recommend this hotel to everyone and I will be back again.”

Robert D, July 2019 (via TripAdvisor)

           

Excellent Stay in Canberra

“Stayed 3 nights in a Two Bedroom Apartment. Felt like home. It was freezing in Canberra compared to Sydney but the room was nice and warm. Great, soft bed that you could just melt into throughout the night. Staff were super helpful. Cooked our own meals each night and was very happy to see that the apartment was stocked with all the cooking utensils. The tram was very convenient as we were in the city faster than if we drove. No fee for parking, which really kills it for me at most hotels. Absolutely will be back. The Pavilion is now my hotel of choice when I come back to Canberra. ”

Bella Blackmore, June 2019 (via TripAdvisor)

              

Terrific overnight stay

“We requested a quiet room with a comfortable bed and that is exactly what we received. The room was very quiet and the bed was amazingly comfortable, the shower was fantastic and our meal in the upstairs part of the restaurant was delicious.”

Peter M, May 2019 (via TripAdvisor)

                

Excellent hotel

“The hotel is conveniently located. The staff was always helpful and ensured a smooth check-in/checkout. They also answered my questions, since I am new to Canberra. I stayed in a suite. The room was comfortable. The shower was clean as well. However, the wifi was a bit of a disappointment, since it did not work well in some parts of the room.

The Atrium restaurant was very comfortable. The breakfast was good! I also had two meals there - and both were very nice. I recommend the spicy garlic pasta. Overall, I think the hotel is really good value for money. I will surely return.”

Aaditya J, May 2019 (via TripAdvisor)

      

Most comfortable and clean room ever

“Very comfortable room. The heating was the perfect temperature and the pillow was of very good quality. I had no issues with operating the TV compared to a bad experience I had at another hotel in Canberra. The room was very clean.”

Rhonda H, August 2018 (via TripAdvisor)

    

Excellent Stay!!

“The experience was top class, from online booking to check in to check out. The One Bedroom Apartment was fantastic, great size, clean and had everything we needed. Breakfast in the dining area was good, plenty of food that's fresh and hot. I can't praise this venue highly enough.”

MicknJack8, August 2018 (via TripAdvisor)

       

Back To Top

           

Dining Reviews               

The Atrium

“Although called the Pavilion, I think of it as The Atrium, this is due to the very good atrium within the hotel itself, which in turn adds character and a relaxed atmosphere.

I did not have the opportunity to dine in their restaurant but if what was served at breakfast is any indication, the restaurant would be first class. Staff were very obliging and got me sorted with tickets for the Monet collection. I have stayed at this hotel before and will do so again.”

Betr0ss, July 2019 (via TripAdvisor)

            

Tropical oasis

“We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The tropical Atrium brought a warmth to the hotel which was the opposite to the cold weather outside. The staff were excellent with catering for my dietary requirements. We will definitely stay again.”

Climber40853,  June 2019 (via TripAdvisor)

             

Pavilion on Northbourne

“I recommend Pavilion on Northbourne to anyone travelling to Canberra. The rooms are spacious and clean. The rainforest feel in the bar and restaurant area make it a pleasant area to sit and have a drink or a meal. The hotel is conveniently situated next to the new light rail which will take you to the centre of Canberra for a very reasonable price, with a stop just a short walk from the hotel.”

Compass01698,  June 2019 (via TripAdvisor)

               

An oasis in Canberra

“Favourite hotel in Canberra. Highly recommend to those wanting an oasis amid a busy lifestyle. The central rainforest inspired restaurant/lounge court sets the scene for a pleasant stay. The calming ambience permeates the entire hotel. Add to this the clean well-appointed comfortable rooms, the pleasant and efficient staff, the great coffee and dining experience, and the secure parking - what more could you want. All at an affordable cost. Third stay this year - Highly recommend.” 

Sharon W, November 2018 (via TripAdvisor)

        

Time for Happy Hour

“From the reception staff to the housekeeping staff, everyone was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was of good quality and excellent value for money. We really enjoyed Happy Hour.

We had a fantastic stay and will definitely choose this hotel when we return to Canberra next year.” 

David,  June 2019 (via TripAdvisor)

     

Relaxed and great food

“The rooms open onto a central, weatherproof courtyard which contained the bar and restaurant. Our room was pristine. The steak sandwich was delish. Reports from the Mrs and Smithy were that the BBQ Ribs and the steak were top shelf.” 

Peter W, March 2019 (via TripAdvisor)

            

Comfortable, close to city

"Conveniently located on the highway into Canberra CBD. Rooms well appointed and cosy - beds very comfortable. Lovely atmosphere in the well-decorated foyer area. You must have the full breakfast - one of the best I've ever had whilst travelling. Very happy to recommend and stay again.”

Kstayz, November 2018 (via TripAdvisor)

 

Back To Top

   

Functions & Events Venue Reviews

Review from Charitable Organisation’s Event at Pavilion

The survey questioned what people thought about the accommodation, venue, interactions with Pavilion staff, food and other conference things.  I’m happy to report that all questions about the Pavilion received a 10 out of 10. 

Our CEO has reported that ‘the venue and their staff clearly worked in harmony with our events team to create a conference that worked on all levels’. He found the responsiveness of the Pavilions team to be ‘helpful in meeting our needs and making our teams feel comfortable’.

Your support, responsiveness, sense of humour and overall interactions with each other and our teams were supportive and helpful.  I’ve never worked with a functions team (and I’ve run this conference for the past 4 years) that were as responsive as you all were. I also must say the staff loved the food. I also appreciate the quick turnarounds in dividing the rooms.  Thank you! We had many room changes and didn’t know if we could pull it off, but your team made it appear seamless.

Thank you also for treating our VIPs as VIPs.”

Shy,  December  2018 (via email)

                

Great stay, great food, friendly staff

“Stayed here for a business workshop. Staff all very friendly. Room very clean and in good order. We used one of the small conference rooms and the AV equipment was excellent. Food was very nice from the buffet breakfast, through to dinner in the Atrium. Great selection of beers too.”

David B,  July 2019 (via TripAdvisor)

                  

Great hotel I Canberra

“Top hotel with restaurant and cafe, great seminar room. Down the road from Parliament House. Twelve minutes to the airport - morning shuttles to the airport during the week. Has a swimming pool and parking.”

Depow1954, February  2019 (via TripAdvisor)

                

Conference stay

“I recently stayed at the Pavilion for a weekend conference and was impressed with the efficiency, courtesy, and patience of the staff. My room was clean and spacious. The coffee machines need some improvement, but apart from that everything was great and I'd definitely stay here again.”

Judith B, July 2018 (via TripAdvisor)

        

Best conference food EVER

“I attended a conference here last weekend (6 - 8 July) and I have never been to a conference with 190 attendees where the staff have been so solicitous and helpful - wanting to ensure we were all happy. 

All the food was amazing; from a huge range at the buffet breakfast (my fave was the little jars of Bircher muesli topped with nuts) but the hot food was yummy, morning tea of fresh homemade sausage rolls or custard tarts etc, to the lunch flatbread rolls filled with mayo chicken and crunchy coleslaw or beef and Swiss cheese sandwiches. 

Even the formal conference dinner was delicious and they usually aren’t! There was a manager called Gordon who deserves praise as he could not have been more helpful - does the man never sleep? He was always there to help! Seriously anyone looking for a conference venue in Canberra would be hard pushed to find a better venue. I hope our organisation rebooks for our next conference in 2020.”

Sarah F,  July 2018 (via TripAdvisor)

     

Back To Top

            

Reviews about our Staff

Great Price, Great Service

“I was greeted by friendly smiley faces at reception. The room was lovely and provided all the creature comforts while being away from home. The food at the bar, restaurant and buffet breakfast were great. Very reasonably priced. I will definitely be staying again.”

Jessica Rambuulo, July 2019 (via TripAdvisor)

       

Great position and service. Very comfortable.

“Great position and service. Very comfortable. Reception staff are always friendly and remember you as a return guest. Now that light rail work has finished, the hotel is quiet with very few outside noises heard.”

Stephen H, May 2019 (via TripAdvisor)

   

Fantastic Hotel with Friendly Staff

“Fantastic staff who were so friendly and welcoming. The room was spacious and the bed was super huge and comfy. The breakfast buffet was very nice. It was lovely sitting in the bar area in the afternoon having a few drinks before dinner. We will definitely be returning when we stay in Canberra. We were very impressed.”

Apatasaurus, February 2019 (via TripAdvisor)

     

Wonderful as always

“Whenever we go to Canberra, we always stay here. The rooms are a normal size, clean and comfortable. There is parking on-site as well as a restaurant & bar. We didn't eat there this time but have in the past. It was flavourful and creatively plated.

The friendly and helpful staff round out the experience. We arrived early from Melbourne and Larry was able to check us in so we could freshen up before heading out for the day.

We were lucky to be upgraded to a Spa Suite which was a nice perk for my husband's birthday.

The bed was softer than what my husband prefers but I thought it was fine.

The fridge had a freezer which I always like and there was complimentary cold water in the fridge. We can't wait for our next visit to Canberra to stay here again!”

Constance B, January 2019 (via TripAdvisor)

           

Always a high level of service

“I have stayed here several times when in Canberra and the level of service is always excellent from check-in to check out. The breakfast is very nice with an array of items to suit all palates. The rooms are spacious and very clean thanks to great housekeeping. Pavilion has beautiful indoor gardens surrounding a lounge, bar and restaurant area which is so nice and relaxing. The staff are all friendly and helpful, the location is close enough to most things. This is what makes me book this property each time I return to Canberra.”

Pog1966,  September 2018 (via TripAdvisor)

          

First-class friendly service

“The hotel was excellent, great rate, rooms are clean, and the atrium was lush and inviting. The staff were first-rate especially Sue on reception. She was competent, welcoming, friendly and helpful. The breakfast was worth every cent. This is the only hotel we will stay in Canberra in the future.”

Lesgaulton1952,  September 2018 (via TripAdvisor)

              

         

Back To Top